COMHAIRLE CATHRACH AGUS CONTAE PHORT LÁIRGE WATERFORD CITY AND COUNTY COUNCIL

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE METROPOLITIAN DISTRICT HELD 20^{TH} JUNE 2022

Present:

Donal Barry (Ind)			
Joeanne Bailey (SF)			
Joe Conway (Ind)			
Davy Daniels (Ind)			
Pat Fitzgerald (SF)			
Susan Gallagher (GP)			
Jim Griffin (SF)			
John Hearne (SF)			
Joe Kelly (Ind)			
Eddie Mulligan (FF)			
Jason Murphy (FF)			
Lola O'Sullivan (FG)			
Jody Power (GP)			
Frank Quinlan (FG)_			
Eamon Quinlan (FF)			
Mary Roche (Ind)			
Seamus Ryan (Lab)			
Adam Gary Wyse (FF)			

Officials in attendance:

Mr. M. Walsh, Chief Executive

Mr. M. Quinn, Director of Services

Ms. H. Dunphy, Meetings Administrator

Ms. Angela O'Shea, Corporate Department

ELECTION OF METROPOLITAN MAYOR

In his opening speech the outgoing Mayor, Cllr. Seamus Ryan reflected on the last year and paid special tribute to the front-line workers for their work and dedication during the pandemic and gave special thanks to our healthcare workers. The highlight of his year was the Annual Mayor's Ball. He thanked his Deputy Mayor, Cllr. Murphy and wished the incoming Mayor well in his year ahead. The Mayor concluded by thanking his family for their support and assistance and all council staff and colleagues.

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Metropolitan Mayor for the coming year.

It was proposed by Cllr. Mulligan and seconded by Cllr. Conway "That Cllr. Jason Murphy be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan District."

It was proposed by Cllr. Hearne and seconded by Cllr. Bailey "That Cllr. Jim Griffin be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan District."

It was proposed by Cllr. Roche and seconded by Cllr. Barry "That Cllr. Donal Barry be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan District."

There being no further nominations the Mayor then declared nominations closed and roll call vote was taken which resulted as follows: -

Cllr. Jason Murphy	Cllr. Jim Griffin	Cllr. Donal Barry	
Cllr. J. Conway	Cllr. J. Bailey	Cllr. D. Barry	
Cllr. J. Kelly	Cllr. D. Daniels	Cllr. M. Roche	
Cllr. C. Kiely	Cllr. P. Fitzgerald		
Cllr. E. Mulligan	Cllr. J. Griffin		
Cllr. J. Murphy	Cllr. J. Hearne		
Cllr. L. O'Sullivan	Cllr. J. Power		
Cllr. E. Quinlan	Cllr. S. Ryan		
Cllr. F. Quinlan			
Cllr. A. Wyse			
9	7	2	

As a majority of votes of the members present was not reached Cllr. Barry was eliminated and a roll call vote was taken for the 2 remaining candidates which resulted as follows:

Cllr. Jason Murphy	Cllr. Jim Griffin	Abstain
Cllr. J. Conway	Cllr. J. Bailey	Cllr. D. Barry
Cllr. J. Kelly	Cllr. D. Daniels	Cllr. M. Roche
Cllr. C. Kiely	Cllr. P. Fitzgerald	
Cllr. E. Mulligan	Cllr. J. Griffin	
Cllr. J. Murphy	Cllr. J. Hearne	
Cllr. L. O'Sullivan	Cllr. J. Power	
Cllr. E. Quinlan	Cllr. S. Ryan	
Cllr. F. Quinlan		
Cllr. A. Wyse		
9	7	2

As Cllr. J. Murphy received the majority vote of the votes cast he was duly elected Mayor of Waterford Metropolitan District and assumed the chair.

The Mayor thanked his proposer and seconder and stated he was honoured to be elected Mayor stating that it was a show of democracy, he also acknowledged the support of his family. During his term as Mayor of the Metropolitan District he will promote Waterford as the regional capital and will work for the betterment of Waterford. He looks forward to seeing the delivery of the North Quays project, the Airport runway, 24/7 Cath Lab and SETU. He paid tribute to the outgoing Mayor.

Councillors paid tribute to the outgoing Mayor and wished the incoming Mayor best of luck. The CE congratulated Cllr. Ryan on his year as Mayor stating it was very challenging. He welcomed Cllr. Murphy as new Mayor and stated that the Executive would be there to support him and help to move Waterford forward.

ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor then invited nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.

It was proposed by Cllr. E. Quinlan and seconded by Cllr. A. Wyse "that Cllr. L. O'Sullivan be elected Deputy Mayor"

There being no	further non	ninations th	e Mayor	then	declared	nominations	closed	and	Cllr.
O'Sullivan was	duly elected	Deputy Ma	yor of W	aterfo	ord Metro	politan Distri	ct		

Cllr. O'Sullivan thanked her proposer and seconder and looks forward to supporting the Mayor in the year ahead.

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Signed:	Dated:

Mayor of the Metropolitan District