Item No.

# COMHAIRLE CATHRACH AGUS CONTAE PHORT LÁIRGE WATERFORD CITY AND COUNTY COUNCIL

# AGM HELD ON 24<sup>th</sup> JUNE, 2020 IN WIT ARENA, CARRIGANORE, WATERFORD.

#### **PRESENT**

Cllr. John Pratt	Cllr. Joe Kelly
Cllr. Ger Barron	Cllr. Eddie Mulligan
Cllr. Donal Barry	Cllr. Jason Murphy
Cllr. Liam Brazil	Cllr. Pat Nugent
Cllr. Breda Brennan	Cllr. Seamus O'Donnell
Cllr. Declan Clune	Cllr. John O'Leary
Cllr. Joe Conway	Cllr. Lola O'Sullivan
Cllr. Tom Cronin	Cllr. Thomas Phelan
Cllr. Davy Daniels	Cllr. Jody Power
Cllr. Declan Doocey	Cllr. Seanie Power
Cllr. Conor D. McGuinness	Cllr. Eamon Quinlan
Cllr. Pat Fitzgerald	Cllr. Frank Quinlan
Cllr. Susan Gallagher	Cllr. Mary Roche
Cllr. Damien Geoghegan	Cllr. Seamus Ryan
Cllr. Jim Griffin	Cllr. James Tobin
Cllr. John Hearne	Cllr. Adam Wyse

### **APOLOGIES**

None

### OFFICIALS IN ATTENDANCE

- Mr. M. Walsh, Chief Executive
- Mr. K. Kehoe, Director of Services, Corporate, Culture, HR & IS
- Mr. I. Grimes, Director of Services, Housing, Community & Emergency Services
- Mr. G. Hynes, Senior Engineer, Roads, Water & Environment
- Mr. B. Pollard, Head of Finance.
- Mr. M. Quinn, Director of Services, Planning and Economic Development.
- Ms. H. Dunphy, Meetings Administrator.
- Ms. A. Maher, Corporate.

Minutes silence held for Brendan Boyer and Detective Garda Colm Horkan.

#### 1. TOGHCHÁN AN MHÉARA – ELECTION OF MAYOR

Outgoing Mayor, Cllr. Pratt brought the meeting to order and thanked all who assisted him during his year as Mayor, especially his family, the executive and staff in the Corporate Department.

He welcomed everyone to a different AGM, the venue and layout taking into the consideration the social distancing requirements. He offered congratulations to those elected as TD's and Senators and congratulated all those who also contested for those jobs.

He reflected on his year in office, noting the launch of the housing scheme for Ballinroad, his attendance at the Business Awards, work and involvement with the PPN, Age Friendly Groups, Comhairle na nÓg, and the Renault World GAA Games. He regrets the cancellation of events such as St. Patricks Day parade and the Mayors Ball due to the Covid 19 pandemic. He asked that everyone supports and shops local in order to assist the recovery plan for the whole county. He acknowledged and thanked all the front line workers, communities and volunteers who have worked during the last number of months to keep numbers low and assist those in need. He thanked his Deputy Mayor, Cllr. Ryan and wished the incoming Mayor well in his year ahead.

The Mayor called for nominations for the position of Mayor of Waterford City & County Council. It was proposed by Cllr. O'Sullivan and seconded by Cllr. Tobin that Cllr. Geoghegan be elected mayor. It was proposed by Cllr. Hearne and seconded by Cllr. Clune that Cllr. D. McGuinness be elected mayor

There being no further nominations the Mayor then declared nominations closed and a roll call vote was taken by the meetings administrator.

Cllr. Geoghegan	Cllr. D. McGuinness
Cllr. Brazil	Cllr. Barron
Cllr. Conway	Cllr. Barry
Cllr. Wyse	Cllr. Clune
Cllr. Cronin	Cllr. Hearne
Cllr. Doocey	Cllr. D. McGuinness
Cllr. Geoghegan	Cllr. Daniels
Cllr. Kelly	Cllr. Fitzgerald
Cllr. Mulligan	Cllr. Gallagher
Cllr. Murphy	Cllr. Griffin
Cllr. Nugent	Cllr. Brennan
Cllr. O'Donnell	Cllr. Phelan
Cllr. O'Leary	Cllr. J. Power
Cllr. O'Sullivan	Cllr. Pratt
Cllr. S. Power	Cllr. Roche
Cllr. E. Quinlan	Cllr. Ryan
Cllr. Tobin	
Cllr. F. Quinlan	
17	15

Cllr. Geoghegan having received the majority of the votes was deemed elected. In his speech he thanked his proposer and seconder, all those in the Fine Gael party and particularly his family for their continued support. He expressed sympathies to families of those who have lost someone to COVID 19 and thanked all front line workers for their contribution. He noted that many businesses have been hard hit as a result of the pandemic and the council must play a central role in their recovery. He welcomes the commencement of the process for a new development plan, working with the IDA and Chamber of Commerce and continuing pressure for 24/7 cardiac care for UHW. He looks forward to seeing the delivery of the North Quays project and working towards university status for WIT.

## 2. TOGHCHÁN AN LEAS MHÉARA – ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the office of the Deputy Mayor for the coming year.

It was proposed by Cllr. Cronin and seconded by Cllr. Murphy that Cllr. Mulligan be elected Deputy Mayor.

It was proposed by Cllr. Brennan and seconded by Cllr. D. McGuinness that Cllr. Griffin be elected Deputy Mayor.

There being no further nominations the Mayor then declared nominations closed and a roll call vote was taken by the meetings administrator.

Cllr. Mulligan	Cllr. Griffin
Cllr. Brazil	Cllr. Barron
Cllr. Conway	Cllr. Barry
Cllr. Cronin	Cllr. Clune
Cllr. F. Quinlan	Cllr. Hearne
Cllr. Doocey	Cllr. D. McGuinness
Cllr. Geoghegan	Cllr. Daniels
Cllr. Kelly	Cllr. Fitzgerald
Cllr. Mulligan	Cllr. Gallagher
Cllr. Murphy	Cllr. Griffin
Cllr. Nugent	Cllr. Brennan
Cllr. O'Donnell	Cllr. Phelan
Cllr. O'Leary	Cllr. J. Power
Cllr. O'Sullivan	Cllr. Pratt
Cllr. S. Power	Cllr. Roche
Cllr. Quinlan	Cllr. Ryan
Cllr. Tobin	
Cllr. Wyse	
17	15

Cllr. Mulligan having received the majority of votes was deemed elected.

Cllr. Mulligan thanked his proposer and seconder and looks forward to supporting Cllr. Geoghegan in his role as Mayor and working towards the recovery of Waterford after COVID 19 crisis.

Members welcomed the newly elected Mayor and Deputy Mayor and supporting them in the year ahead.

Chief Executive Michael Walsh congratulated Cllr. Geoghegan on his election as Mayor and acknowledged the work of Cllr Pratt during his term as Mayor.

3. AOB	
None	
This concluded the business of the meeting.	
G!	D.4. J.
Signed: Mayor	Dated: