COMHAIRLE CATHRACH AGUS CONTAE PHORT LÁIRGE WATERFORD CITY AND COUNTY COUNCIL

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE METROPOLITIAN DISTRICT HELD 19^{TH} JUNE 2023.

Present:

Donal Barry (Ind)	Stephanie Keating (FF)
Joeanne Bailey (SF)	Jason Murphy (FF)
Joe Conway (Ind)	Lola O'Sullivan (FG)
David Daniels (Ind)	Jody Power (GP)
Pat Fitzgerald (SF)	Frank Quinlan (FG)_
Cristiona Kiely (GP)	Eamon Quinlan (FF)
Jim Griffin (SF)	Mary Roche (SD)
John Hearne (SF)	Seamus Ryan (Lab)
Joe Kelly (Ind)	Adam Gary Wyse (FF)

Officials in attendance:

Mr. Michael Walsh, Chief Executive

Mr. Michael Quinn, Director of Services

Ms. Honor Dunphy, Meetings Administrator

Ms. Anne Flynn, Corporate

ELECTION OF MAYOR OF THE METROPOLITAN DISTRICT

The Mayor opened the meeting by welcoming all present. In his address which followed he said he enjoyed every day of being Mayor of the Metropolitan District. during his term he looked to be inclusive and as accessible as possible. A highlight of his year was recognising and seeing what a great place Waterford is and seeing the work of community groups in making Waterford a better place to live. He mentioned the Déise Men's Shed, Waterford Ladies Footballers and the FreeWheelers MC who received Mayoral Receptions for their work in the community. He also mentioned the Mayor's Ball which raised €48,000 for charity and acknowledged the work of former councillor Cha O'Neill in organising the successful event. The Mayor concluded by saying it was a great honour for him and the parish of St. Paul's and Larchville to have a Mayor from the area.

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Mayor of the Metropolitan district for the coming year.

It was proposed by Cllr. Kiely and seconded by Cllr. Ryan "That Cllr. Jody Power be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan District."

It was proposed by Cllr. Bailey and seconded by Cllr. Fitzgerald "That Cllr. John Hearne be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan District."

There being no further nominations the Mayor then declared nominations closed and roll call vote was taken.

Cllr. Jody Power	Cllr. John Hearne
Cllr. J. Conway	Cllr. D. Barry
Cllr. D. Daniels	Cllr. J. Bailey
Cllr. J. Kelly	Cllr. P. Fitzgerald
Cllr. C. Kiely	Cllr. J. Griffin
Cllr. S. Keating	Cllr. J. Hearne
Cllr. J. Murphy	
Cllr. L. O'Sullivan	
Cllr. J. Power	
Cllr. E. Quinlan	
Cllr. F. Quinlan	
Cllr. M. Roche	
Cllr. S. Ryan	
Cllr. A. Wyse	
13	5

As Cllr. J. Power had the majority vote he was duly elected Mayor of Waterford Metropolitan District and assumed the chair.

The Mayor thanked his colleagues, the members, his family and friends and said it was an honour and privilege to be elected Mayor. He spoke of his roots in Henry Street, his time travelling the world as a cadet engineer for Shell, his 10 years in Rhode Island and finally his return to Waterford. During his term as Mayor of the Metropolitan District he will push for local action on the climate emergency and other environmental issues, including the ecosystem within Waterford estuary. In conclusion he said it will take courage and determination to make sure Waterford is the best place to live not only in 2023 but in 2024 and beyond.

Councillors paid tribute to the outgoing Mayor and wished the incoming Mayor best of luck. M. Quinn, DoS congratulated Cllr. Murphy on his year as Mayor and welcomed Cllr. Power as new Mayor and said that the Executive would be there to support him.

ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR OF THE METROPOLITAN DISTRICT

The Mayor then invited nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.

It was proposed by Cllr. E. Quinlan and seconded by Cllr. O'Sullivan "that Cllr. Cristiona Kiely be elected Deputy Mayor".

There being no further nominations the Mayor then declared nominations closed and Cllr. C. Kiely was duly elected Deputy Mayor of Waterford Metropolitan District

Cllr. Kiely thanked her proposer and seconder and looks forward to supporting the Mayor in the year ahead.

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Signed:	Dated:
Mayor of the Metropolitan District	