COMHAIRLE CATHRACH AGUS CONTAE PHORT LÁIRGE WATERFORD CITY AND COUNTY COUNCIL

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE METROPOLITIAN DISTRICT HELD 10^{th} JUNE, 2019

Present:

Donal Barry (IND)
Breda Brennan (SF)
Joe Conway (Ind)
John Cummins (FG)
Davy Daniels (Ind)
Pat Fitzgerald (SF)
Jim Griffin (SF)
John Hearne (SF)
Joe Kelly (Ind)
Eddie Mulligan (FF)
Jason Murphy (FF)
Marc O'Cathasaigh (GP)
Lola O'Sullivan (FG)
Jody Power (GP)
Eamon Quinlan (FF)
Seamus Ryan (Lab)
Adam Gary Wyse (FF)

Apologies: Cllr. Matt Shanahan

Officials in attendance:

Mr. M. Walsh, Chief Executive

Mr. F. Galvin, Director of Service Environment & Water Services

Mr. B. Duggan, Senior Executive Officer

Ms. H. Dunphy, Meetings Administrator

ELECTION OF METROPOLITAN MAYOR

In his opening speech the outgoing Mayor, Cllr. Joe Kelly outlined the highlights of his year as the Mayor's Ball and the presentation of the school certificates. He paid tribute and acknowledged the work and support of previous Cllr. Cha O'Neill in organising the Mayors ball and also the assistance of Mandy Nolan Reade in Corporate office. The Mayor concluded by thanking his family for their support and assistance and also the Council Staff.

The Mayor invited nominations for the position of Metropolitan Mayor for the coming year.

It was proposed by Cllr. Fitzgerald and seconded by Cllr. Griffin "That Cllr. Breda Brennan be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan District."

It was proposed by Cllr. Cummins and seconded by Cllr. Murphy "That Cllr. O'Sullivan be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan District."

There being no further nominations the Mayor then declared nominations closed and a poll was taken which resulted as follows:-

Cllr. Breda Brennan	Cllr. Lola O'Sullivan
Cllr. D. Barry	Cllr. J. Cummins
Cllr. B. Brennan	Cllr. E. Mulligan
Cllr. J. Conway	Cllr. J. Murphy
Cllr. D. Daniels	Cllr. L. O'Sullivan
Cllr. P. Fitzgerald	Cllr. E. Quinlan
Cllr. J. Griffin	Cllr. A. Wyse
Cllr. J. Hearne	
Cllr. J. Kelly	
Cllr. M. O'Cathasaigh	
Cllr. J. Power	
Cllr. S. Ryan	
11	6

Having received a majority of the votes of the Members, Cllr. B. Brennan was duly elected Mayor of Waterford Metropolitan District and assumed the chair.

The Mayor thanked her proposer and seconder and acknowledged the support of her husband and family. During her term as Metropolitan Mayor she will promote Waterford and its tourism offering. She will continue to work on the challenging areas of unemployment, need for a University, the development of the Airport, 24/7 Cardiac Care and the expansion of the North Quays. The issue of supporting adults and children with a disability will be a priority during her term, along with supporting young people and the promotion of greater participation of women in politics. She concluded by thanking her party for their support.

ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor then invited nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.

It was proposed by Cllr. Fitzgerald and seconded by Cllr. Hearne "that Cllr. Griffin be elected Deputy Mayor"

It was proposed by Cllr. Quinlan and seconded by Cllr. O'Sullivan "that Cllr. Murphy be elected Deputy Mayor"

There being no further nominations the Mayor then declared nominations closed and a poll was taken which resulted as follows:-

Cllr. Jim Griffin	Cllr. Jason Murphy
Cllr. D. Barry	Cllr. J. Cummins
Cllr. B. Brennan	Cllr. E. Mulligan
Cllr. J. Conway	Cllr. J. Murphy
Cllr. D. Daniels	Cllr. L. O'Sullivan
Cllr. P. Fitzgerald	Cllr. E. Quinlan
Cllr. J. Griffin	Cllr. A. Wyse
Cllr. J. Hearne	
Cllr. J. Kelly	
Cllr. M. O'Cathasaigh	
Cllr. J. Power	
Cllr. S. Ryan	
11	6

Having received a majority of the votes of the Members, Cllr. Griffin was duly elected Deputy Mayor.

Cllr. Griffin thanked his proposer and seconder and looks forward to supporting the Mayor in the year ahead.

Section 38 - Traffic Calming Scheme at junction of Vulcan Street / O'Connell Street

F. Galvin, Director of Services outlined the details of the Section 38 for the members. The commencement of the process was proposed by Cllr. Daniels and seconded by Cllr. Wyse. Cllr. Ryan requested that consideration is given to the type of materials used for the footpaths. F. Galvin noted the comment.

Nomination to City Centre Management Group & Tramore Town Centre Group

City Centre Management Group (2 Positions)

It was proposed by Cllr. Wyse and seconded by Cllr. Daniels that Cllr. Mulligan is nominated for the committee.

It was proposed by Cllr. Conway and seconded by Cllr. Phelan that Cllr. Kelly is nominated for the committee.

As there were no other nominations for the committee both Cllr. Mulligan and Cllr. Kelly were confirmed as the two members of the City Centre Management Group.

Tramore Town Centre Group (2 Positions)

It was proposed by Cllr. Fitzgerald and seconded by Cllr. Hearne that Cllr. Griffin is nominated for the committee.

It was proposed by Cllr. Daniels and seconded by Cllr. Griffin that Cllr. Conway is nominated for the committee.

As there were no other nominations for the committee both Cllr. Griffin and Cllr. Conway were confirmed as the two members of the Tramore Town Centre Management Group.

AOB		
It was agreed to hold a workshop on Monday 17	th June at 5.30pm on the Knockboy SHD	
This concluded the business of the meeting.		
Signed:	Dated:	
Mayor of the Metropolitan District		