Skip to content

Final Results of Waterford Local Elections 2024

All 32 seats on Waterford City and County Council have now been filled.

Tramore / Waterford City West Electoral Area (6)


Lola O’Sullivan (FG)

Joe Kelly (Ind)

Joe Conway (Ind)

Blaise Hannigan (Ind)

Jim Griffin (SF)

Eamon Quinlan (FF)


Waterford City East Electoral Area (6)


Declan Barry (Ind)

David Daniels (Ind)

Pat Fitzgerald (SF)

Adam Wyse (FF)

Jim Darcy (FG)

Mary Roche (SD)


Waterford City South Local Electoral Area (6)


John Hearne (SF)

Donal Barry (Ind)

Jason Murphy (FF)

Seamus Ryan (Lab)

Frank Quinlan (FG)

Joeanne Bailey (SF)


Dungarvan Electoral Area (6)


Damien Geoghegan (FG)

Conor D McGuinness (SF)

Tom Cronin (FF)

Pat Nugent (FG)

Thomas Phelan (Lab)

Joe O’Riordan (Ind)


Portlaw / Kilmacthomas Electoral Area (5)


John O’Leary (FF)

Seanie Power (FG)

Liam Brazil (FG)

Declan Clune (Ind)

Catherine Burke (SF)


Lismore Electoral Area (3)


John Pratt (Lab)

Niamh O’ Donovan (FG)

Donnachadh Mulcahy (SF)


Waterford Elections Results – Elected Members (


Waterford Elections Hub real-time information

So far 8 seats have been filled in the Waterford Elections 2024.

With 24 seats remaining, get real time information as and when the seats in Waterford’s six LEAs are filled.

  • Lismore
  • Portlaw Kilmacthomas
  • Tramore – Waterford City West
  • Waterford City East
  • Waterford City South
  • Dungarvan

Count Three for Lismore and Waterford City East are underway, while Counts Two for all other LEAs are ongoing.


Latest Count Results of Waterford Local Elections 2024

Seats filled so farIn the early hours of Sunday 9th June, the results for the first counts of five Local Electoral Areas and the second count of the Lismore Electoral Area in the Waterford Local Elections 2024 were announced by Local Elections Returning Officer, Paul Johnston.

  • In the Lismore Electoral Area, no candidates reached the quota of 1,289 and the Returning Officer announced that Count Two would commence imminently.  The second count yielded no candidates being deemed elected.  Declan Doocey (FG) was excluded with 568 votes to be redistributed in Count Three beginning at 9am Sunday.
  • In the Portlaw-Kilmacthomas Electoral Area, sitting Councillors Liam Brazil (FG) and Seánie Power (FG) both exceeded the quota of 1,299 with 1,982 and 1,554 respectively and were both re-elected.  Count two will commence on Sunday morning.
  • In the Tramore – Waterford City West Electoral Area, 17 candidates are contesting the six seat ward and Lola O’Sullivan (FG) topped the poll with 1,313 votes.  Count two will commence at 9am on Sunday morning.
  • In Waterford City East ward, David Daniels (Ind) was successful with 1,331 on the first count along with Declan Barry (Ind) with 1,257.
  • In the Waterford City South LEA, fifteen candidates contested 6 seats with Donal Barry (Ind) topping the poll with 1,291 and deemed elected.
  • In the Dungarvan Local Electoral Area, 16 candidates are contesting 6 seats.  Elected on the first count, having exceeded the quota were sitting Councillors Damien Geoghegan (FG) with 1,584 votes and Conor D.McGuinness (SF) with 1,408.
  • Count Three for Lismore and Counts Two for all other LEAs resumed Sunday morning at 9am.

For up to date count results visit


First Count begins in Waterford Local Elections

Count Staff sorting votesThe first count of our local elections has officially started.

Our returning officer for the day, Paul Johnston, announced the beginning of proceedings shortly after 7pm. This election will determine who will sit on Waterford City & County Council for the next 5 years.

Mr. Johnston addressed candidates, officials, volunteers, and observers present, highlighting the importance of accuracy and transparency in the counting process.

Each vote is carefully sorted and counted into a pigeon hole bearing the name of each candidate.

For those interested in following the progress and results of the count, updates will be available on the Waterford Elections Hub. You can also find real-time information and join the discussion on social media using the hashtag #WaterfordElections2024


First Count commencing approx. 5pm

Election UpdateLocal Election Update: First Count This Afternoon

Verification of European ballot papers is almost complete here at SETU arena.  Local Election count will commence at approx. 5pm, Saturday.

Before the local votes are tallied, count staff are finalising the separating and counting of the European election ballots. This process is vital to ensure accurate results for both elections.

Stay tuned for updates as the counts progress, and don’t forget to check the Waterford Elections Hub for real-time information and detailed results, onmce available.

Local Elections Freephone for visually impaired voters

Local Elections Freephone NumberWaterford City and County Council has set up Freephone number to assist visually impaired voters in the upcoming Local Elections on June 7th.

Voters can use the dedicated service to hear the details of the candidates running in their local electoral area for the June 7th Election.  The order of candidates will be as they appear on the ballot paper.

Each individual candidate has a corresponding number assigned which will be on the Ballot Paper Template (BPT) available at the voter’s Polling Station.

Voters who may be visually impaired are advised to ask the Presiding Officer to attach a template to their ballot paper so that they can vote in secret on June 7th and ensure their preference is accurately recorded.

Raised numbering and Braille on the template guide the voter to the relevant candidate location on the Ballot Paper. It is removed once the ballot paper has been marked and the ballot paper is placed in the ballot box, entirely indistinguishable from all the other marked ballot papers.

Vision impaired voters will also continue to have the option of marking their ballot papers with the assistance of a companion or Presiding Officer at the polling station.

The freephone number is 051 849 670 and is available until the close of polls at 10pm on Friday, June 7th.



Local Elections Candidate Nomination Week Closes

Notice of Poll banner

Waterford City and County Council wishes to advise that the Local Elections Candidate Nomination Week has closed, and the period of withdrawal has now passed.

Paul Johnston, Acting Director of Services with Waterford City and County Council and Local Elections Returning Officer stated, “Over the course of the nomination week, we received 79 representations from candidates or their proposers, all of which have been validated.  These candidates will contest for 32 seats across six electoral areas in Waterford City and County on June 7th.”

Details of all candidates contesting Waterford Local Elections 2024 can be found on Waterford Elections Hub website Waterford Elections ( or users may enter their Eircode to find candidates in their particular area.