Eligibility to Vote

The Right to Vote
The type of election you can vote in depends on your citizenship. The following are the eligibility criteria to vote:

  • Irish citizens can vote in every election and referendum
  • British citizens may vote at Dáil (General), European and local elections
  • Other EU citizens may vote at European and local elections  *
  • Non-EU citizens can vote at local elections only

  • *  If you are an EU citizen, other than an Irish or British citizen, and you were not registered to vote in previous European elections in Ireland, you must also complete a declaration, using Form EP1, to guard against double voting in an election.

    Waterford City & County Council will then register you to vote in your local constituency and send the information in your declaration to your home EU Member State.