Skip to content

Covid-19:  Ireland launches “The Community Call” in major nationwide volunteering effort

The Community Call, a major initiative that links local and national government with the community and voluntary sectors, was announced today by Government. 

The Community Call is an unprecedented mobilisation of both state and voluntary resources to combat the effects of Covid-19.

The purpose of the Community Call is to coordinate community activity, direct community assistance to where it is needed, and marshal the volunteering energy of the country.

The immediate focus is on the elderly and the most vulnerable, and mobilising rapid response in every country to make sure everyone is looked after. In the coming weeks the focus will expand to broader the well-being of our society and how communities can work together to help the country through the Covid-19 crisis. 

The Community call was announced April 2nd by the Tánaiste Simon Coveney TD, the Minister for Rural and Community Development Michael Ring TD, the Minister of State for Local Government and Electoral Reform John Paul Phelan TD, and the Chief Executive of Fingal County Council, AnnMarie Farrelly who represented the Local Authortities. Speaking at the launch, An Tánaiste Simon Coveney TD said:

“We are all finding it very strange to be home and to be keeping away from our family and community. But those that are vulnerable or in need of a bit of help need to know that they are not alone. The government is tapping into the reach of our local authorities in every corner of Ireland as well as the extraordinary dedication of a legion of voluntary groups and charities. For those who need some help, it is there for you.”

Speaking at today’s event, Mr Michael Ring TD, Minister for Rural and Community Development, praised the outstanding contribution of the community and voluntary sector to the national effort to address the effects of the COVID-19 crisis. 

“Since the very start of this emergency, the community and voluntary sector has been working on the ground and also at national level with my Department, to prepare for the Community Response which we are outlining today.  One of our greatest assets in this country is the strength of our local, community and voluntary networks”, the Minister said. 

“We are now asking that those networks – formal and informal – be mobilised so that everyone in our communities can look after each other.  If your neighbours or relatives are required to stay at home – check with them to see if they need supports.  And if you are in that category yourself, don’t hesitate to ask for help – whether it’s with shopping, fuel delivery, collecting medicines or any other necessities of daily life.  The Local Authority helpline is there as a safety net, to ensure that everyone is looked after.”

For more information, go to

At National level, Community Call will be overseen by a group from the Department of An Taoiseach, the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, the Department of Rural and Community Development, the Department of Health, and the County and City Management Association.

The Community Call will be overseen and managed locally by our Local Authorities, led by the county Chief Executives.  The CEOs, the most senior public official in every county, have been tasked with making this work, and are leading a dedicated community Forum in each county to coordinate and connect the wide range of services and supports that area available.  The forum involves an extensive list of state and voluntary organisations.  A dedicated phone line is now operational in every county, details at. and the national number 0818 222 024 is also now in operation.

The following is the list of each local authority’s helpline phone numbers.

Local Authority Community Call Number  

Carlow County Council   1800 814 300   

Cavan County Council    1800 300 404   

Clare County Council      1890 252 943   

Cork City Council             1800 222 226   

Cork County Council       1800 805 819   

Donegal County Council               1800 928 982   

Dublin City Council         01 222 8555      

Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council             01 271 3199      

Fingal County Council    01 890 5000      

Galway City Council        1800 400 150   

Galway County Council  1800 928 894 and 091 509 390 

Kerry County Council     1800 807 009    

Kildare County Council   045 980 202      

Kilkenny County Council              1800 500 000    

Laois County Council      1800 832 010    

Leitrim County Council  071 965 0473    

Limerick City & County Council   1800 832 005    

Longford County Council             043 334 4255    

Louth County Council     1800 805 817   

Mayo County Council     094 906 4660   

Meath County Council   1800 808 809   

Monaghan County Council          1800 804 158    

Offaly County Council    1800 818 181    

Roscommon County Council       1800 200 727    

Sligo County Council       1800 292 765    

South Dublin County Council      01 414 9043      

Tipperary County Council            076 106 5000    

Waterford City and County Council         1800 250 185   

Westmeath County Council        1800 805 816   

Wexford County Council              053 919 6000   

Wicklow County Council              1800 868 399   

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
View All News
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x