Skip to content

Latest Count Results of Waterford Local Elections 2024

Seats filled so farIn the early hours of Sunday 9th June, the results for the first counts of five Local Electoral Areas and the second count of the Lismore Electoral Area in the Waterford Local Elections 2024 were announced by Local Elections Returning Officer, Paul Johnston.

  • In the Lismore Electoral Area, no candidates reached the quota of 1,289 and the Returning Officer announced that Count Two would commence imminently.  The second count yielded no candidates being deemed elected.  Declan Doocey (FG) was excluded with 568 votes to be redistributed in Count Three beginning at 9am Sunday.
  • In the Portlaw-Kilmacthomas Electoral Area, sitting Councillors Liam Brazil (FG) and Seánie Power (FG) both exceeded the quota of 1,299 with 1,982 and 1,554 respectively and were both re-elected.  Count two will commence on Sunday morning.
  • In the Tramore – Waterford City West Electoral Area, 17 candidates are contesting the six seat ward and Lola O’Sullivan (FG) topped the poll with 1,313 votes.  Count two will commence at 9am on Sunday morning.
  • In Waterford City East ward, David Daniels (Ind) was successful with 1,331 on the first count along with Declan Barry (Ind) with 1,257.
  • In the Waterford City South LEA, fifteen candidates contested 6 seats with Donal Barry (Ind) topping the poll with 1,291 and deemed elected.
  • In the Dungarvan Local Electoral Area, 16 candidates are contesting 6 seats.  Elected on the first count, having exceeded the quota were sitting Councillors Damien Geoghegan (FG) with 1,584 votes and Conor D.McGuinness (SF) with 1,408.
  • Count Three for Lismore and Counts Two for all other LEAs resumed Sunday morning at 9am.

For up to date count results visit


View All News