Skip to content

Waterford City & County Council’s management structure is split into 5 directorates, each headed by a Director of Services. The Chief Executive, Mr. Michael Walsh, leads the Senior Management Team.

Regulation of Lobbying

On commencement of the Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015, 1st September 2015, each public body with Designated Public Officials is required under section 6(4) of the Act to publish a list showing the name, grade and brief details of the role and responsibilities of each “Designated Public Official” of the body.

The purpose of the list is twofold: 1) To allow members of the public identify those persons who are Designated Public Officials; and 2) As a resource for lobbyists filing a return to the Register who may need to source a Designated Public Official’s details.

Each Elected Member of Waterford City & County Council is also a ‘Designated Public Official’ under this Act.  Names and titles of these officials appear below

Director of ServicesRoads, Water & EnvironmentFergus Galvin
Head of FinanceFinance & Cost ManagementBernard Pollard
Director of ServicesEconomic DevelopmentMichael Quinn
Acting Director of ServicesPlanning, Corporate, Culture, HR & ISPaul Johnston
Director of ServicesHousing, Community & Emergency ServicesIvan Grimes

Transparency Code

The Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform has prepared and published a code, known as the “Transparency Code”, which sets out how certain relevant public bodies, such as ministerial advisory groups, may conduct their activities in a transparent way. By adhering to the Transparency Code, communications within these bodies would meet the exemption from the requirement to register and report on lobbying activities.

Please direct all initial enquiries to Customer Services at or call 0818 10 20 20

* This information is published in accordance with ‘The Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015’ – Designated Public Officials’ details – Section 6(4) of said Act.  For more information, see