Skip to content

Reminder : Winterval – updated Road Closure arrangements

Notice is hereby given that Waterford City and County Council, in exercise of its powers pursuant to Section 75 Roads Act 1993, will close the following public roads to through traffic to facilitate the Winterval 2022 Christmas Festival:

  1. From 11pm Monday 7th November 2022 until 11pm Sunday 8th January 2023 the following street will be closed for the Winterval Christmas Market:
    Arundel Square – L5532 (from its junction with Peter Street to Conduit lane).
    Please Note: The Bus Stop and Taxi Rank on Peter Street will operate as normal.
  2. From 11am Monday 14th November 2022 until 11pm Friday 30th December 2022 the following street will be closed for the Winterval Santa Installation.
    Michael Street (North) – L-1527 (from it’s junction with Lady Lane and Patrick St)
  3. On Friday 18th November 2022 from 2pm until 7pm the following streets will close for the arrival of Santa Claus and the switching on of the Christmas Lights.
    Barronstrand Street – L91092
    Broad Street – L91092
    Great Georges Street – L-90352
  4. On Friday 18th November 2022 from 3:30pm until 6pm the following streets will close for the arrival of Santa Claus and the switching on of the Christmas Lights.
    Peter Street – L-5531
    Patrick Street – L-1525 (from its junction with Mayors Walk)
    Bakehouse Lane – L5530
    Note: Between 4pm and 4:30pm Friday 18th November there may be significant delays outbound on The Quay and through traffic should divert via Ashe Road.
  5. From 10pm Sunday 13th November 2022 until 10pm Sunday 8th January 2023 the following street will be closed for the Winterval Christmas Market:
    O’Connell Street – L1502 (from its junction with Hanover Street to Sargents Lane).
    Great Georges Street – L-90352 (from its junction with John Roberts Square)
  6. On the following Times & Dates the area known as John Roberts Square, consisting of the roads listed below will be closed to facilitate the Winterval Festival.
    – 11am Saturday 19th November until 10pm Sunday 20th November
    – 11am Saturday 26th November until 10pm Sunday 27th November
    – 11am Saturday 3rd December until 10pm Sunday 4th December
    – 11am Saturday 10th December until 10pm Sunday 11th December
    – 11am Saturday 17th December until 10pm Sunday 18th December
    – 11am until 10pm each day from Monday 19th until Friday 23rd December
    Barronstrand Street – L91092
    Broad Street – L91092
  7. On Wednesday 21st December 2022 from 4pm until 11pm the following public Car Park and Roads shall close to facilitate a public outdoor Winterval Solstice Event.
    Thomas Hill (L15021) – There will be no access to Thomas Hill from Francis Street, access from O’Connell Street shall be unaffected.
    Meeting House Lane (L15022) – Residential Access only
    Jenkins Lane Car Park (L90356) – All cars must vacate by 6pm
    Little Patrick Street (L90355)
  8. Each Saturday from Saturday 19th November 2022 until Friday 16th December 2022 the area known as Applemarket will the host of the Santa’s Elves Christmas letter Collection Winterval Event and other Christmas Events. Residential and Emergency Access to Spring Garden Alley will be unaffected.
    The usual road Closures for the Applemarket will apply.
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
View All News
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x