About The Council

Establishment of the Organisation
Waterford City and County Council (Comhairle Cathrach agus Contae Phort Lairge) is the authority responsible for local government in the City & County of Waterford, Ireland. The organisation came into operation on 1st June 2014 after that year's local elections, and is a merger of Waterford City Council and Waterford County Council, as brought about under the provisions of the Local Government Reform Act 2014.

Information on the roles, responsibilities and functions of the organisation can be found here.

Our Mission Statement
Our mission is to make Waterford the best possible place for all its people and for those that wish to live, visit, work or invest here.

Administration of the Organisation
The City and County administration is headed by a Chief Executive, Michael Walsh. The corporate headquarters are based in City Hall, The Mall, Waterford. The organisation has 850 staff as of April 2016.

Councillor Joe Conway (Ind) is the current Mayor of the City and County of Waterford. He was elected to the position at the annual meeting of Waterford City and County Council in June 2023. To contact the mayor, please email mayor@waterfordcouncil.ie

Governance arrangements
Waterford City & County Council has a Council of 32 elected members. Day to day management of the organisation is carried out by over 850 staff under the leadership of a management team.

Both the Senior Management Team and the Elected Members are "Designated Public Officals" under the Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015.

Corporate Plans and Strategies

Policy Documents

Customer Charters & Code of Conduct

Protected Disclosures