About the Metropolitan District

The Metropolitan Council is that constituent part of Waterford City & County Council, which represents the Waterford City, Tramore, Passage East and Dunmore East areas and their hinterlands.

There are 18 elected representatives for this district, which is made up of three local government electoral areas, each with 6 Councillors - Tramore & Waterford City West, Waterford City East and Waterford City South. Click on the name of the area to see the Councillors for each.

The current chairperson (Mayor) of the Metropolitan District is Cllr. Davy Daniels (Independent). The deputy metropolitan Mayor is Cllr. Mary Roche (Independent).

Regular meetings are scheduled for the third Monday of every month (except August). The venue for these meetings is the Council Chamber, City Hall, Waterford.

The current Metropolitan District Councillors, with senior management officials, June 2019.